Who's Online

We have 26 guests and no members online

lights logo 2021


June 11, 2021 – South Amherst, Ohio – “Chargin’ Charlie Shultz” won Friday night’s 30-lap Maxima Racing Oils Must See Racing Midwest Lights feature event at Lorain Raceway Park in South Amherst, Ohio. It was the first of two nights of racing scheduled for the MSR Lights series this weekend at Lorain Raceway Park.

thumbnail 1

Dylan Watson got the night started off with quick time of the night with a 13.327 second lap around the 3/8 mile, slightly banked asphalt oval. Heat wins went to Todd McQuillen and Schultz.

An inversion number of four was rolled for the feature and would find Jason Rader on the pole and Schultz alongside. When the green flag flew, Schultz was able to get the jump and would lead wire-to-wire for his second career MSR Midwest Lights victory.

Flowing Schultz across the stripe was Rader, Joey Wyckoff, Watson, and J.J. Henes rounding out the top five. All but two cars finished on the lad lap and Shultz’s margin of victory was 3.869 seconds over Rader. Schultz gave car owner John Higgins his second career MSR Lights series victory.

The only series incident of the night occurred during group qualifying when the rear axle of the car of Justin Stanley broke exiting turn four. Stanley’s car then pounded the front straight wall and effectively ended his night. Stanley walked away unscathed.

Schultz is currently enjoying a winning streak of sorts. Schultz is fresh off a Must See Racing Sprint Series presented by Engine Pro win at the Indianapolis Speedrome less than six days ago. Friday’s victory gives Schultz a victory in both MSR series in less than a week with a chance to add another victory this week if he were to win Saturday night’s weekend finale.

The MSR Midwest Lights will be back in action at LRP Saturday night for the final event of the weekend double-header. It will also be round #4 off the 2021 schedule.

For info on the Maxima Racing Oils Must See Racing Midwest Lights Series please visit


  1. Charlie Schultz (92)
    2.       Jason Rader (52)
    3.       Joey Wyckoff (90)
    4.       Dylan Watson (12)
    5.       J.J. Henes (36)
    6.       Joshua Sexton (51)
    7.       Todd McQuillen (21)
    8.       Tim Henthorne (15)
    9.       Lauren DePasquale (18)
    10.   Craig Sharfenburg (99)
    DNS Justin Stanley (9)