Who's Online

We have 50 guests and no members online

MSR Honors Top 2019 Performers at Annual Banquet

2019 banquet 1

2019 banquet 2

2019 banquet 3

They Are Coming!

THEY ARE COMING 12.28.19jpg Page1

2019 MSR Champions Award Banquet

DEREK PERNESIGLIO   11-26-19jpg Page1

Lucas Oil Raceway To Host Non-Points, Non-Winged MSR Sprint

HOLLY, Mich. – The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro will host one of the most unique events in tour history at one of the Midwest’s most well-known facilities next season.


Announced Wednesday in advance of the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show in Indianapolis, Must See Racing will headline the inaugural Indy Summer Nationals, June 18-20 at Lucas Oil Raceway.


The three-day mega event will feature a host of drag racing on the LOR drag strip, while the Saturday night portion of the program will star the warriors of Must See Racing in a special non-points, non-winged showdown on the .686-mile oval.



The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series will hold its first non-winged event as a non-points special on June 20 at Lucas Oil Raceway. (Dallas Breeze photo)


Must See Racing will utilize Little 500 rules for the Lucas Oil special event, with the winner taking home a $4,000 payout from a purse of nearly $25,000 in total.


The Indy Summer Nationals will mark the first non-winged event in the history of the decade-old winged asphalt sprint car sanctioning body, a challenge and opportunity that MSR Founder and President Jim Hanks is eager to tackle next summer.


“Must See Racing has always prided itself on innovation, competition and entertainment for our fans, drivers and sponsor partners through the years, and we feel that we have all three of those boxes checked with the huge Indy Summer Nationals event coming up in June,” Hanks said. “We’ve put on some of the most exciting winged sprint car racing on pavement in the country over the last decade, and we hope to do the same with this special non-winged event at Lucas Oil Raceway, one of the premier facilities in the country. We look forward to the unique challenge that non-winged racing provides and showcasing that spectacle to our fans on June 20 during the Indy Summer Nationals.”

National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame and National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee Tom Bigelow will serve as the grand marshal of the oval-track portion of the Indy Summer Nationals.

Bigelow was the 1978 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series champion and 1984 NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget Series champion.

He also raced in parts of 17 different Indy car seasons, with nine straight Indianapolis 500 appearances between 1974 and 1982 and a best finish in The Greatest Spectacle in Racing of sixth in 1977.

Joining the Must See Racing-sanctioned non-winged sprint cars on the Indy Summer Nationals oval-track card will be the Midwest Supermodified Series, the Midwest Compact Touring Series and the Super Cup Stock Car Series.

The Must See Racing portion of the Indy Summer Nationals will be taped for television broadcast on MAVTV as part of the award-winning SPEED SPORT presented by series, hosted by industry veteran and SPEED SPORT President Ralph Sheheen.

“SPEED SPORT is thrilled to be working with Must See Racing and Jim Hanks for a fourth season in 2020, as we showcase these incredibly fast cars and talented drivers on our SPEED SPORT presented by series on MAVTV,” said Sheheen. “Each year, we've had a new and exciting Must See event to cover and 2020 is no exception, as the series heads to the famed Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis. We can't wait to add this venue to the already impressive lineup of Must See events we’ve broadcast on national television!”

Jacob Seelman
Freelance Writer
Series Announcer for Must See Racing