Who's Online

We have 45 guests and no members online


For Immediate Release


ANDERSON, Ind. (May 23, 2013) – Following a rain shower and cooler than normal May temperatures drivers were having problems finding grip around Anderson Speedway on pole day qualifying for the Pay Less Little 500.


California driver Jo Jo Helberg went out early in the qualifying session Thursday and captured the first Little 500 pole of his career with a four-lap average speed of 80.56 miles per hour and the quick lap of the day at 81.17 mph.


Nine-time Little 500 champion Eric Gordon, competing in his last race, used a different tactic by qualifying late in the session. Gordon will start in the middle of the front row with an average speed of 79.57 mph. Shane Hollingsworth grabbed the outside spot on the front row with an average speed of 79.56 mph.


“When we considered what took place last year,” Helberg said, “we expected the track conditions to get worse.”


Last year Helberg started in the middle of the front row and led the early laps before tangling with a lapped car and coming to rest against the outside retaining wall.


“Brian Olson will be spotting for me this year,” he said. “I think he will keep me aware of potential danger.”


Coming to Anderson Speedway this week, Helberg had a chance at a $50,000 bonus by winning the Must See Racing Winged Sprint feature at Winchester Speedway. A win on Wednesday at Anderson in the Must See Racing 60 would have been that chance alive.


“It’s more important to me to win the Little 500 than the bonus,” Helberg said. “Starting up front doesn’t mean a whole lot like last year.”

Gordon said the team waited until late in the day with the intent of waving off a first qualifying attempt and then making a hard charge.

“I thought we would wave it off,” he said of the qualifying run. “Thought we would put heat in the tires and then go to the end of the line.”

Gordon said he leaned on the right front tire during the warm-up lap to put heat in the tire.



“When I didn’t see the wave off flag on the third lap, I figured I needed not to mess up,” he said. “Starting up front makes a big difference.”

Hollingsworth said the team was satisfied with the qualifying run, which put him on the front row for the second consecutive year.


“We were trying to get heat in the tires and thought about getting in a few extra laps,” he said. “It was interesting track conditions today, so we made the qualifying run early.


“We’ve been pretty happy with the car all week,” Hollingsworth said.


The fastest 15 drivers locked into the starting field with the remainder of the 33-car field to be set during qualifications from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. Friday.


Bobby East, a USAC champion, but Little 500 rookie will start fourth with Aaron Pierce qualifying in the middle of the second row with former Little 500 champion Shane Cottle on the outside.


Bryan Clauson, who ran in the Indianapolis 500 for Sarah Fisher Racing, will start seventh with defending champion Brian Tyler starting 11th.
Three-time Little 500 winner Jeff Bloom, looking to make his 31st consecutive start, qualified 22nd.

Tickets are available for the historic 65th Pay Less Little 500 at $29 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.


The 33-car field will be set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. The 65th Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m. on Saturday night.


Tickets are available for the historic 65th Pay Less Little 500 at $29 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.


- -

For More Information, Contact:
Anderson Speedway
(765) 642-0206
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wilson Claims First Career MSRXSS Victory


May 22, 2013 – Anderson, IN - Jacob Wilson took the lead at the drop of the green during the Must See Racing 60 at Anderson Speedway and never looked back. Wilson led wire-to-wire to collect his first career TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series victory. Wilson ran hard the entire distance to ensure he would not be denied his first career MSRXSS victory.

Wilson built up a sizeable lead early, but lapped traffic allowed Aaron Pierce to close in on lap twenty-six. ”I watched the scoreboard” explained Wilson. ”Whenever you see a #26 for Pierce or a #7 for Helberg behind you, you’re gonna drive a little harder. Those guys have both been quick. But I had a heck of a car. My guys had me dialed in”. Wilson pointed out the fact that he had a close moment with lapped cars late in the race. ”We got pinched into the outside wall going down the back stretch one lap. We got lucky on that but had a heck of a night. Hopefully this will carry over to the Little 500. We had a car that could work lapped traffic tonight and I’m hoping we have the same Saturday night” concluded Wilson.


As Wilson dominated the event, a battle for third waged on between Jo Jo Helberg and Brian Gerster. The duo worked each other through lapped traffic until they made contact on lap 39 entering turn three after they had split a lapped car. Gerster spun and was hit by Jason Cox. Gerster’s machine received damage and relegated him to a twelfth place finish. Aaron Pierce finished second followed by Jo Jo Helberg, Troy DeCaire, and Brian Olson rounding out the top five.


A heavy thunderstorm hit the speedway just after qualifying began. Officials canceled qualifying and used the fastest lap from practice with a 6 being drawn for the inversion. Heat races were won by Jimmy Kite, Aaron Pierce, and Ryan Meyers.

At the conclusion of the event, series president Jim Hanks thanked the efforts of Anderson Speedway officials and President Rick Dawson for making sure the show was completed despite threatening weather. ”Must See Racing really want to thank Rick Dawson, Anderson Speedway, and his crew. We really had some bad weather. They stuck with it and got the track prepared. They were absolutely committed to getting this race in despite the bad weather. We really want to thank them for that and let everyone know how much we appreciate their commitment”.


Next up for Must See Racing will be the 65th annual Pay Less Little 500 Saturday night. Must See Racing is the exclusive sanctioning body of this prestigious event. For more info on Must See Racing log onto

1.Jacob Wilson
2.Aaron Pierce
3.Jo Jo Helberg
4.Troy DeCaire
5.Brian Olson
6.Jimmy McCune
7.Chris Neunschwander
8.Jimmy Kite
9.Jim Sheets
10.Cody Gerhardt
11.Ryan Meyers
12.Brian Gerster
13.Jason Cox
14.Mike Larrison
15.Jeff Bloom
16.Ron Koehler DNS