Who's Online

We have 82 guests and no members online

JoJo Helberg - 2012 MSRXSS Champion

2012 winchester record jojohelberg


Marne, MI - California driver Jo Jo Helberg entered Saturday night's TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series (MSRXSS) finale leading Jacob Wilson by 38 points in the 2012 standings. Helberg put an exclamation point on his 2012 MSRXSS season by claiming Saturday's feature event at Berlin Raceway in Marne, MI, and in the process claiming the 2012 MSRXSS title.

Helberg won Saturday night's event in dominating fashion by taking the lead from early race leader Jimmy McCune early in the 30 lap feature and never looking back. The race got off to a rocky start when Aaron Pierce and Jim Sheets were involved in an accident at the start finish line at the start of the race that resulted in a complete restart of the event. Once Helberg took the lead from McCune, Helberg had managed to build a full straight away lead by lap 5 and there was no denying Helberg his first MSRXSS championship.

Helberg was followed to the line by McCune, Jason Blonde, Wilson, and  Jason Cox rounding out the top five. There were twelve cars still on the lead lap at the conclusion of the feature event.

Mike Larrison was the ' Fast Car Slash ' winner earlier in the night. The ' Fast Car Slash ' is an Australian Pursuit type of race that was used to determine the starting grid for the first six positions of the feature event. Helberg was also the night's fast qualifier.

The only serious accident occurred earlier in the night when veteran Jeff Bloom appeared to loose an engine, or an oil line came loose heading down the backstretch. Bloom backed his car into the third turn wall resulting in an oil fire that kept reoccurring as safety officials attempted to put the fire out several times. Bloom was transported to a local hospital for observation.

Helberg becomes only the second MSRXSS champion in three seasons of competition for the series. Tampa, Florida driver Troy DeCaire had won the last two championships prior to Saturday night.


1.   Jo Jo Helberg
2.   Jimmy McCune
3.   Jason Blonde
4.   Jacob Wilson
5.   Jason Cox
6.   Troy DeCaire
7.   Ryan Litt
8.   Brian Olson
9.   Billy Wease
10. Sondi Eden
11. Aaron Pierce
12. Kevin Feeney
13. Jerry Caryer
14. Dave Baumgartner
15. Teddy Alberts
16. Brad Wyatt
17. Jim Sheets
18. Mike Larrison
19. Kyle Flint
20. Kyle Feeney
21. Craig Karazim
22. Darren Roberts


Winchester, IN - August 19, 2012 - Two-time and defending TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series (MSRXSS) champion Troy DeCaire made a lightning quick pass for the lead and never looked back Sunday afternoon at Winchester Speedway. DeCaire captured his second MSRXSS victory of the season to sweep both MSRXSS Winchester Speedway events this season as well. DeCaire's engine held up just long enough to take him to victory before blowing up on the cool down lap.
DeCaire who started in fifth position, nearly got into the wall on lap 10 when he caught dirty air from a couple of cars he was battling with. DeCiare's car pushed up towards the wall before he recovered and  quickly worked his way into second position. DeCaire then made a lightning quick pass of race leader Aaron Pierce on lap 14 entering turn one. DeCaire then checked out and built up a straight away lead over second running Aaron Pierce. The 30 lap event went green to checkered.
In victory lane, DeCaire explained his pass for the lead." Once I got a run on him (Pierce) I was committed.Once I got 2-3 car lengths from him I thought it might be too early to make a pass. Its one of those things where when your rolling you gotta commit. You gotta pounce on them while you got the chance and while you got that head of steam. If you lift for a second you might get sucked in their air.You might sit for 3 or 4 laps before you get another chance to mount a run on them. I just got a good run and it stuck. That's the main thing " explained DeCaire.
DeCaire's day could have ended earlier but Lady Luck made sure that wouldn't be the case on this day. DeCiare's engine let go on the cool down lap. " The last 3-4 laps it felt like the motor started letting go. I think the head was lifting off the block.It sounded like exhaust valves banging around in there. The last 3-4 laps I tried to run it about three quarter throttle. Luckily It blew up on the cool down lap. If it wasn't for my guys, Northside Propane, Jobsite Concrete, Gaerte Engines, Sweet, and Spike, I wouldn't have been able to do this " concluded DeCaire.
DeCaire was followed to the stripe by Pierce, Jo Jo Helberg, Jason Cox, and Jeff Bloom rounding out the top five. Helberg lead the way in qualifying with a lap of 13.429 seconds. Heat races were won by DeCaire, Jacob Wilson, and Cox.
The MSRXSS will next be in action this coming Saturday night at August 25 at Berlin Raceway in Marne, MI. For more info log onto

Feature Finish-30 Laps

1.91 Troy DeCaire
2.26p Aaron Pierce
3.7 JoJo Helberg
4.40 Jason Cox
5.26 Jeff Bloom
6.51 Mike Larrison
7.6 Sondi Eden
8.07 Jacob Wilson
9.10s Jimmy McCune
10.61 Kevin Feeney
11.41 Brian Olson
12.20 Kyle Flint
13.75 Jerry Caryer
14.61k Kyle Feeney
15.10 Jason Blonde
16.18 Jim Sheets
17.50 Brian Gerster
18.37 Hank Lower
19.12 Billy Wease
20.88 A.J. Russell


Anderson, IN - August 18, 2012 - Current  TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series (MSRXSS) point leader Jo Jo Helberg captured Saturday's MSRXSS 50 Lap feature at Anderson Speedway. The win was the first MSRXSS win of the year for Helberg in 2012.
Polesitter Jacob Wilson got the jump and lead the first 18 jumps before Helberg made the pass for the lead amid confusion. Helberg ran closely behind Wilson and the two worked lapped traffic nearly every lap from the drop of the green. On the eighteenth go around, Mike Larrison spun exiting turn two and for a brief second, it appeared a caution flag might be displayed. Helberg made the pass for the lead as it appeared Wilson may have hesitated thinking the track might go yellow. No caution was waved and the raced continued without any interruptions. Wilson was now trailing Helberg closely looking for any opportunity to regain the lead. The only caution of the race flew on lap 32 for the spin of Jimmy McCune. When the race resumed, Helberg built up a lead he would never relinquish over Wilson, Aaron Pierce, Brian Gerster, and Jason Cox rounding out the top five.
Heat wins went to Hank Lower, Mike Larrison, and Aaron Pierce. Brain Gerster was the night's fast qualifier with a lap of 10.435 seconds
In victory lane, a happy Helberg talked about his pass for the lead. " Lapped cars were absolutely terrible tonight " explained Helberg. " Coming off of turn two I saw a bunch of smoke going down the backstretch. Him (Wilson) and I thought for sure there was a yellow. Right as I come down the backstretch I glanced up and saw no cars spun out. I thought now is my shot. If I'm gonna get him, now is my time. He went to the top and got crowded by lapped cars. I about ran over Hank Lower and about put it down in the grass. After I got the lead I was trying to be conservative. I knew if I kept a good enough pace, in order for somebody to get by me, they would have to really show me a nose or hit me " concluded Helberg.
Saturday's event was the first of two back-to-back events for the MSRXSS this weekend. Winchester Speedway awaits the series for the second and final event of the weekend with the annual Old Timers Weekend event on tap for Sunday afternoon.
For more info log onto
Feature Finish-50 Laps

1.7 Jo Jo Helberg
2.07 Jacob Wilson
3.26p Aaron Pierce
4.50 Brian Gerster
5.40 Jason Cox
6.45 Ryan Gillenwater
7.91 troy DeCaire
8.41 Brian Olson
9.64 Geoff Kaiser (-1)
10.6 Sondi Eden (-1)
11.88 Jimmy McCune (-2)
12.10s A.J. Russell (-2)
13.12 Billy Wease (-2)
14.18 Jim Sheets (-16)
15.37 Hank Lower (-20)
16.26 Jeff Bloom (-21)
17.51 Mike Larrison (-30)
18.5r Darren Roberts (-35)
19.10 Jason Blonde (-36)