Who's Online

We have 26 guests and no members online


Indianapolis, IN - June 9, 2012 - Brian Gerster used an aggressive lap ten slide job on leader Aaron Pierce,  nearly touching the grass, and never looked back en route to his first TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series race of the year Saturday night at Lucas Oil Raceway.
Gerster had earlier established a new track record when he bested Davey Hamilton's existing Supermodified track record with a lap of 17.407 seconds. Gerster is the fifth different winner in as many MSRXSS feature events in 2012, giving proof to how competitive the series is.
Aaron Pierce, driving the Jimmy Brown owned #55, got the jump and lead the first ten circuits. Gerster worked his way from the eighth starting position to challenge Pierce. On lap ten entering turn one, Gerster dove to the bottom of the track. Gerster then slid up in front of Pierce, gathered the car up, and assumed the lead. Jo Jo Helberg closed in on Gerster five laps later and challenged Gerster for the lead momentarily until Helberg's engine began to go sour. Gerster went the rest of the way unmolested while Helberg held on for second and Bobby Santos III rounded out the top three.
In victory lane Gerster explained his strategy when he took the lead from Pierce." I had no intention of making a dirty move. I knew if I could get to the inside my car had been sticking pretty good down there and I'd give it a try " explained Gerster. " I was pretty sure I was ahead of him at some point. I let the thing head back up the race track. I was pretty aggressive but its what we had to do. If the grass had been five foot lower, I'd have been five foot lower ". Gerster also acknowledged that he knew Helberg was right there early in the race. " I saw him a little bit one time. I was running hard but I wasn't maxed out. I figured if anybody pressured me I could pick up the pace " concluded Gerster.
1.   Brian Gerster
2.   Jo Jo Helberg
3.   Bobby Santos III
4.   Dave Baumgartner
5.   Jimmy McCune
6.   Aaron Pierce
7.   Brian Olson
8.   Jason Cox
9.   Jacob Wilson
10. Donny Adams Jr.
11. Troy DeCaire
12. Chris Neuuenschwander
13. Jerry Caryer
14.  Mike Larrison
15.  Jeff Bloom
16.  Hank Lower
17.  Sondi Eden
18.  Travis Miniea
19.  Ron Koehler