Who's Online

We have 64 guests and no members online

Must See Racing Heading In A New Direction

HOLLY, Mich. (Sept. 19, 2020) — After more than a decade of sanctioning winged sprint car competition, Must See Racing will head in a new direction next year.

Must See Racing President Jim Hanks confirmed Saturday that the organization will undergo a transition, reformatting the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro and moving to a special-events-only structure.


“This is a move that came as a very tough decision for us, as this series has been our brand since 2010,” said Hanks. “But based on all existing relevant factors, we had no choice but to finalize this move to conclude the season. No further events will be planned and our special awards and championship banquet will not be held. The points fund money will be mailed to the eligible car owners who supported all of our 2020 events.



“Moving forward into the future, we will no longer organize a traditional series or schedule, but will instead promote and manage several innovative special events featuring multiple racing series, race tracks and divisions from across America,” Hanks added. “This plan will showcase our marketing partners’ products and services both in multimedia and through national television distribution.


“Our new format will enhance our primary business focus: delivering exciting and compelling racing entertainment, news and content to the marketplace and providing our marketing partners with expanded means and value to effectively reach and connect with mass audiences.”


The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro began in 2010, with Tampa, Fla., veteran Troy DeCaire collecting the first two points titles before JoJo Helberg raced to the 2012 championship.


Indiana’s Brian Gerster secured back-to-back crowns in 2013 and ’14 before Ohio’s Jimmy McCune started a streak of success in 2015 that ultimately culminated in five consecutive series titles.


With the 2020 season declared complete after four races — two at Wisconsin’s Golden Sands Speedway, one at Ohio’s Lorain County Speedway and one at Pennsylvania’s Jennerstown Speedway Complex — Anthony McCune stands as the kingpin of the year, edging Jimmy McCune in the final tally.


Both McCunes earned 345 points across the four races, but Anthony’s two victories at Golden Sands over Jimmy’s lone victory at Lorain County served as the difference-maker.


Looking at the final numbers, 110 features were completed in the 11-year history of the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro. Jimmy McCune heads the all-time win list with 34.


Twenty-one different drivers earned at least one sprint car victory under Must See Racing sanction.


Additional details on the future direction of Must See Racing will be announced at a later date.